skip to main content
« Back to news list
Simon Award Finalists!

The finalists in eight of the 10 categories for the 2015 David Simon Excellence in Education Awards are:
Certified Employee of the Year
Ellen Bergland - New Hope Elementary
Cindy Berry - Technology Department
Tonia Parrish - Winstead Elementary
Classified Employee of the Year 
Linda Baker - Lee Woodard Elementary
Beatrice Chavez - Springfield Middle
Nell Coley - Rock Ridge Elementary
Learn. Create. Inspire. Award
Ginger Kelly-Bissette - Rock Ridge Elementary
Keith Dublin - Hunt High
Gail Mahan - Lucama Elementary
Assistant Principal of the Year
Daniel Barnes - Beddingfield High
Gavin Meiring - Forest Hills Middle 
Allison Williams - Rock Ridge Elementary
First-Year Teacher of the Year
Richard Martin - New Hope Elementary
Ryan Reich - Beddingfield High
Emily Yelton - Elm City Elementary
Bus Driver of the Year
Dorothy Jordan - Lee Woodard Elementary
Sue Liles - Lucama Elementary
Sandra May - Rock Ridge Elementary
School of the Year
Daniels Learning Center
Rock Ridge Elementary
Toisnot Middle
Lifetime Achievement Award
Lorraine Creech - Forest Hills Middle
Joanne Jackson - New Hope Elementary
Sabrina Smith-Epley - New Hope Elementary
Finalists for WCS Principal of the Year
Steve Hunter, Darden Middle
Roy Henderson, Jones Elementary
Pattie Barnes, Springfield Middle
Finalists for WCS Teacher of the Year
Janet Winstead, math teacher, Beddingfield High
Laura Nelson, fourth-grade teacher, Hearne Elementary
Jana Winders, music teacher, Lucama/Lee Woodard Elementary
Make sure to attend the 2015 David Simon Excellence in Education Awards on May 7 at 6:30 p.m. at Fike to cheer on the finalists and find out who the winners are! Let's fill up the auditorium with staff, students, parents and community members to recognize this amazing group of talent!

School Supplies
Copyright © 2018 Wilson County Schools SCHOOLinSITES Logo
Wilson County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, marital or parental status, in admission, to access, to treatment in its programs and activities. This website endeavors to comply with best practices and standards defined by Section 508 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act. If you are having accessibility concerns, please contact us at 252-399-7712