skip to main content
« Back to news list
Simon Award Winners!

Simon Award Winners
Ten WCS employees won awards during the 2016 David Simon Excellence in Education Awards held June 2 at Hunt High!! The awards, which debuted in 2010, stand as the highest recognition the school system bestows on employees and recognizes exceptional performance. The Simon Awards carry the name of the late David Simon, a Fike student whose response to a terminal cancer diagnosis was to become a scholar. Here is a list of the winners:

Certified Employee of the Year: Katherine Taylor, Media Coordinator, Forest Hills Middle

Classified Employee of the Year
: Ashley Davis, Computer Technology Assistant, New Hope Elementary

Learn. Create. Inspire. Award
: Esperanza Chavez, 1st Grade Teacher, Rock Ridge Elementary

Excellence in Content Award
: Cynthia Hardy, 5th Grade Teacher, Winstead Elementary

First-Year Teacher of the Year
: Harrison Lamm, PE/Health Teacher, Springfield Middle 

Teacher Leader of the Year
: Sara Gutierrez, 6th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Elm City Middle

Innovator of the Year
: Jennifer Byrd, 5th Grade Science Teacher, Jones, Elementary

Lifetime Achievement
: George Drawhorn, Assistant Principal, Daniels Learning Center

Principal of the Year
: Valerie Budd, Speight Middle

Teacher of the Year
: Hope Whitley, 1st Grade Teacher, Stantonsburg Elementary

School Supplies
Copyright © 2018 Wilson County Schools SCHOOLinSITES Logo
Wilson County Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, marital or parental status, in admission, to access, to treatment in its programs and activities. This website endeavors to comply with best practices and standards defined by Section 508 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act. If you are having accessibility concerns, please contact us at 252-399-7712