Enrollment » Immunization Info

Immunization Info

North Carolina General Statutes (G.S. 130-A-152(a)) require immunizations for every child present in this state. Every parent/guardian is responsible for ensuring that their child(ren) receive required immunizations. If you have specific questions, please contact your healthcare provider or your local health department. North Carolina requires the following immunizations. There are immunizations that are required for children enrolling in kindergarten or first grade for the first time. You will also need to provide a copy of a list of your child's immunizations, which may be obtained from a family physician or at clinics conducted by the Wilson County Health Department. Call the Health Department at 252-237-3141 to schedule appointments for physicals and immunizations as soon as possible if you need this service.
 
Vaccine
Number Doses Required Before
School Entry*
Diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis
5 doses
Polio
4 doses
Measles 2 doses
Mumps
2 doses
Rubella
1 dose
Haemophilus Influenzae type B (Hib)
4 doses
Hepatitis B (Hep B)
3 doses
Varicella (chickenpox)
2 dose

* Please read below for further information.
 
Diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis - Five doses. Three doses by age seven months and two booster doses, one by age 19 months and the second dose on or after the fourth birthday and before enrolling in school for the first time. If the fourth dose was administered on or after the fourth birthday, the fifth dose is not required.

Polio - Four doses. Two doses by age five months, a third dose by 19 months of age. The fourth dose is required on or after the 4th birthday and before entering school for the first time.

Measles - Two doses. One dose on or after 12 months of age and before 16 months of age and a second dose before enrolling in school for the first time. As long as the doses are separated by at least 28 days, the second dose may be given at any time before beginning school. A person who has been diagnosed prior to January 1, 1994 by a physician as having measles or an individual who has documented laboratory results of a protective antibody titer against measles is not required to receive vaccine. Lacking such proof, vaccination is required.

Mumps - Two doses. One dose on or after 12 months of age and before age 16 months and a second dose before enrolling in school for the first time. A physician's diagnosis is not acceptable for mumps disease(s). The person must be immunized or have documented laboratory results of a protective antibody titer against the specific disease.

Rubella - One dose on or after 12 months of age and before 16 months of age. A physician's diagnosis is not acceptable for rubella disease(s). The person must be immunized or have documented laboratory results of a protective antibody titer against the specific disease.

Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) - Three doses of HbOC or two doses of PRP-OMP by age seven months and a final dose of any type on or after age 12 months and by age 16 months. Persons who receive the first dose of Hib on or after 12 months of age and before 15 months of age are required to have only two doses with one dose being after 15 months of age. Persons who received the first dose of Hib vaccine on or after 15 months of age are required to have only one dose. Persons who have passed their fifth birthday are not required to be vaccinated against Hib. Note - Due to the shortage of Hib vaccine caused by manufacturing issues, the requirement for a booster dose of Hib vaccine on or after the age of 12 months has been temporarily suspended, until further notice. (1/18/08)

Hepatitis B - Three doses. One dose by age three months, second dose by age five months and a third dose by age 19 months. Persons born on or after July 1, 1994 are required to receive the hepatitis B vaccine

Varicella - Two doses. One dose of varicella vaccine - on or after 12 months of age and before age 19 months- is required for children born on or after April 1, 2001. A second dose is required before entering school the first time. Documentation of disease must be from physician, nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant verifying the history of varicella disease. Documentation must include the name of the individual with the history of disease, approximate date or age of infection and a healthcare provider signature. Ask your health care provider for more information.